Encounters

I Witnessed A WalMart ‘Prankster’

Quite a few of my stories may start out to read, “Yesterday …” or “Last Night”. This is because it takes me a bit of time to assimilate what has been. Quite a few of my encounterings are Unpleasant. So, to say, this one was amusing and had me smiling through it was a blessing.
Now, WalMart is a strange place to encounter strange people. But, if you wander around long enough, it sometimes can be that you encounter someone as yourself. That happened to me strolling toward the back of the store, with my buggy, beside the refrigerated units on my left.
WalMart was so doggone crowded, I had to Stop! I couldn’t go any direction, but in a second and a half, I was alone, deserted, looking around, and startled, whoa, they’re gone fast. Like, cleared out. As I turned and moved to heave my buggy forward, directly in front of me, a large yellow box of Cherrios fell off the shelf from a Full display, about waist-high to me, and landed on the floor a foot from the front of my buggy. I thought, “No, thank you, no Cherrios.”
At that moment and into some many seconds later, I’m anticipating the buggy that nudged that box from the other side of the aisle, to appear in view. And, it does. The small middle-aged lady who appeared in view, pushing her buggy, said to me, “How did it know I wanted to buy Cherrios.” She motioned to pick up the Cherrios box off the floor, looked at me and said, “But, I prefer to pick my Cherrios boxes, and not have my Cherrios boxes pick me.” She then placed the box in the display, just as one would place a brick in a wall, and she wheeled her buggy away.
This incident really had nothing to do with me except that I was the observer, probably the only observe. I was standing there smiling through the whole thing. I walked around that side to satisfy myself that the lady had not ‘nudged’ the boxes, but with palletted stacked six high on the other side, nudging could not happen. I knew that before I looked.
It was just natural, not a thing strange about it. Would like to meet up with her again though.

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

